At the beginning of the year I drew attention to 28 crochet books I was excited to see coming out this year. We’re halfway through the year now and many of those books have been released. People, including me, are reviewing and enjoying them. Today I thought I’d roundup links to reviews and other information about 25 crochet and craft books.

Top Pick

plastic bag crochet book

One Plastic Bag: Isatou Ceesay and the Recycling Women of the Gambia by Miranda Paul illustrated by Elizabeth Zunon. “This book is the true story of a woman who set out to transform her African village by teaching herself and others to crochet purses from the plastic bags that litter the ground everywhere.”

How to Crochet Books

crochet book

@annabooshouse announced the release of her new crochet book: Beginner’s Guide to Crochet: 20 Crochet Projects for Beginners

Niche Crochet Books

tunisian crochet shawls

@crochetkween reviewed Tunisian Crochet Shawls by Sharon Silverman; @krwknitwear also reviewed Tunisian Shawls, which incidentally I’ve also reviewed

peanuts crochet book

Peanuts Crochet Book via @twinkiechan (who has 4 amigurumi character patterns in the book)

combigurumi crochet book

Combigurumi crochet book review @annemariesblog

Crochet Motif Books

granny square

Beginner’s Granny Square Crochet ebook free from @spincushions

crochet motifs book

Marvelous Crochet Motifs @gocrochet

crochet motifs book

Fox’s Lane reviewed Hooked!: 40 Whimsical Crochet Motifs from Weird to Wonderful, one of the books on my roundup of 28 2015 crochet books. It’s currently on a blog tour.

Crochet Project Books

crochet lace book

@crochetme did a post about Kristin Omdahl’s new book Crochet So Lovely: 21 Carefree Lace Designs; also check out the Marly Bird podcast interview with crochet designer @kristinomdahl

colorful crochet afghans and pillows

Colorful Crochet Afghans and Pillows

sweet crochet

Sweet Crochet

crochet home book

@mooglyblog shared The Well Made Home, a @knitpicks crochet book featuring ten patterns

crochet potholders book

My favorite crochet potholders in 35+ Potholders to Crochet @aboutathome @aboutdotcom

knit rochet book

@crochetkween strongly recommends the knit and crochet pattern book Leather, Lace, Grit and Grace by Denise LaVoie; read her review to see why!

crochet cat hats

Cats in Hats: 30 Knit and Crochet Hat Patterns for Your Kitty was reviewed by Pam MacKenzie

prayer shawls

7 free crochet prayer shawls ebook from @allfreecrochet; learn more about prayer shawl crafting here

formal jewelry crochet book

Formal Jewelry crochet book by Karen McKenna, review by Marty Miller

crochet ebook freeform

New crochet ebook from RensFibreArt: Tassels, Fringes and Dangly Bits for Freeform Crochet

crochet baby patterns

12 crochet baby patterns ebook from @redheartyarns

Crochet Magazines

crochet magazines

Digital knit and crochet magazines @redheartyarns; check out the apps, too

Other Crochet Books

love in every stitch

Love in Every Stitch: Stories of Knitting and Healing by @LeeGantKnits. This is a book that includes healing stories of knit and crochet and it will likely appeal to fans of Crochet Saved My Life: The Mental and Physical Health Benefits of Crochet. Stitch and Unwind has an interview with the author.

Other Craft Books

craft book

Pip of @meetmeatmikes shows a sneak peek of her new craft book titled Craft for the Soul

snail mail book

Snail Mail: Rediscovering the Art and Craft of Handmade Correspondence by Michelle Mackintosh via Foxs Lane

rsz_craft_space_book

@idalifestyle shared the book Maker Spaces by @emilyquinton. She writes: “Her book is a curated gallery that displays the creative homes and studios of inspiring makers and designers.”

textile center library

“Folded carefully into the heart of the Textile Center (Minneapolis) lies its most precious gem – the Textile Center Pat O’Connor Library. With 27,000 volumes and periodicals, the library is the country’s largest circulating collection of textile art resources.” via @surface_design

Craft Business Books

craft book

2015 Crafter’s Market: How to Sell Your Crafts and Make a Living via Marty Miller

social media ebook

How to Use Social Media to Grow Your Small Business, ebook for sale from @molliemakes

Author

San Francisco based and crochet-obsessed writer, dreamer and creative spirit!

Write A Comment