crochet link love 2

Here is this week’s edition of crochet link love where I try to support the crochet community by sharing links to the best of the best in crochet art, crochet patterns, crochet fashion and more from around the web this week.

Sponsor Love

fair trade tea

Thanks so much to today’s sponsor Plum Deluxe!

Tea is the perfect pairing for crochet! Join the Plum Deluxe organic tea of the month club and always have a fresh, seasonal tea on hand. All-organic, fair trade, non-GMO, vegan, gluten free – and only $10/month! Mention ‘Crochet Concupiscence’ for a special gift in your first shipment.

Check out the great post Plum Deluxe did on crochet trends as well as their tips for creating a cozy crafting space.

Something Special

Sophie'sUniversePart10a

Flo shares her experience of crafting the popular Sophie’s Universe CAL so far in this crocheter interview

Crochet Quote

“Her toes hide in the basket of soft yarn and she looks very concentrated where she sits with her legs crossed and her back straight. With hook in one hand and yarn in the other she works her way forward. Without problem.” – My Rose Valley in a post about her daughter learning to crochet

Crochet Art

crochet art doll

Mixed media art doll with new crochet flower brooch by Hello Hart! She also shared a beautiful pair of knit, crochet and embroidery gloves she gave to her daughter as a tangible reminder of mom’s love as she heads away.

crochet wisteria

News article about #100womenproject: “Reader asked for 100 vines but has received more than 400 from 15 countries. “I’m insanely overwhelmed by the openness of the women who shared their art and their stories”. Thanks to any of my readers and Instagram followers who joined me in contributing wisteria vines to this project! (photo above were few of the ones I sent in)

crochet red poppies

250,000 crochet poppies being installed in Fed Square for Anzac Day. Picture: Norm Oorloff Source: News Limited

crochet art

Check out the wonderful eWoodStory mini Masterpiece frames with their artwork in crochet, knit, embroidery and more via @stitchstory

Crochet Books

love in every stitch

Love in Every Stitch: Stories of Knitting and Healing by @LeeGantKnits. This is a book that includes healing stories of knit and crochet and it will likely appeal to fans of Crochet Saved My Life: The Mental and Physical Health Benefits of Crochet. Stitch and Unwind has an interview with the author.

crochet skill building book

Pam Mackenzie reviewed Dora Ohrenstein’s Crocheter’s Skill Building Workshop

crochet book

@annabooshouse announced the release of her new crochet book: Beginner’s Guide to Crochet: 20 Crochet Projects for Beginners

Crochet Designers

crochet shorts

Crochetology shares why she doesn’t gauge swatch and what she does instead in this post about crochet shorts

crochet blanket pattern

Krista of @RescuedPaw shared a bit about herself and how a portion of all her crochet design sales go to animals in need

solomon's knot

@crochetbyfaye has a new Interweave crochet class on Solomon’s Knot lace

Crochet Fashion

bridal crochet

Calypso St. Barth’s bridal collection includes a crochet dress via @bustle; see more crochet wedding dresses here

crochet maxi dress

Crochet maxi dress from Ecote via Outstanding Crochet who always finds the best crochet fashion!

crochet bikini

Former Australia’s Next Top Model contestant Simone Holtznagel shared: “how cool is my custom crochet bikini by @beijobaby”

1970s mccalls crochet

7 summer fashion trends perfect for crochet @aboutathome @aboutdotcom

Crochet Patterns

crochet infinity scarf pattern

I’ve rounded up 100 free crochet scarf patterns over @aboutdotcom @aboutathome including this one from @jessie_athome

crochet scarf pattern

Candy scarf crochet symbol chart pattern free from ByHaafner

mommy me crochet

8 Mommy-and-Me Crochet Patterns including these matching ballet slippers from PatternParadise via @becraftsy

crochet teddy bear free pattern

Crochet teddy bear free pattern by Pamela Mackenzie

plarn tote bag crochet pattern

Japanese knot plarn tote bag free crochet pattern from My Recycled Bags

crochet purse pattern

Hexagon crochet purse pattern free from Hopeful Honey, part of the lovely Hexi Blog Hop CAL, which also includes patterns this week from @gleefulthings and @fiberflux

bobble clutch crochet purse pattern

Bobble Stitch clutch crochet purse free pattern @bhookedcrochet who also has a terrific basketweave basket crochet pattern this week

crochet handwarmer pattern

Beautiful thread crochet handwarmer pattern for sale from Mamachee

aviator crochet hat pattern

Aviator hat free crochet pattern by @ucrafter

crochet adult hat

Crochet striped earflap hat free pattern, multiple sizes, from Alli Crafts

crochet baby hat free pattern

Turban newborn hat free crochet pattern from Cream of the Crop Crochet

crochet hat pattern

New crochet hat pattern for sale from Akua Lezli Hope

colorful crochet blanket pattern

2 new colorful crochet blanket patterns for sale from @feltedbutton

crochet tank top

Girl’s rainbow tank top free crochet pattern by @jessie_athome

rainbow crochet blanket pattern

Celtic Weave and Cluster Stitch Rainbow Mile-a-Minute Crochet Afghan free pattern by Meladora’s Creations

crochet shawl pattern

Crochet shawl pattern for sale from @elkstudio_

crochet silk sari scarf pattern

Silk sari yarn crochet scarf pattern for sale from @jbhcrochet

crochet rainbow pencil cup cozy

Rainbow cup cozy free crochet pattern from @fiberflux – also good for organizing your crochet hooks

rainbow crochet washcloth pattern

Crochet rainbow washcloth free pattern @SCCelinaLane

crochet finger puppets

Finger puppets free crochet pattern from @mooglyblog

crochet dog leash pattern

Crochet dog leash free pattern from Mamachee

crochet face scrubbie free pattern

Puff stitch crochet face scrubbie free pattern from Cream of the Crop Crochet

crochet loofah scrubbies

Loofah-style crochet bath scrubbies free pattern from Annoo’s Crochet World

Crochet Tutorials

join yarn

4 ways to join a new color of yarn @happily_hooked

crochet circle

How to crochet a perfect circle @kpwerker

crochet gauge

How to check your crochet gauge from Posh Patterns

Crochet Tips

double treble crochet

How to crochet double treble stitch via @fiberflux; more about this and other tall stitches here

flo blo crochet

@crochetkitten explains the difference between FLO and BLO crochet and when to use each

crochet cd mandalas

Upcycling Tips: 10 items you can recycle with crochet

Crochet News and Info

world record crochet blanket

67 Blankets for Nelson Mandela Day broke a crochet world record; these records are being broken left and right! Stel of Haak-n-stekie, writing about it, shares: “Thousands of knitters and crocheters had worked on beautiful blankets, to give away to strangers, to people in need, in crisis. Everyone who has made a blanket knows that you don’t do it in a just a few days, and that, for me, is the greatness of this event, that thousands of people had been willing to put in the time and the effort, from grannies to school girls, corporate yuppies to the Sharks rugby team, this is was a collective effort that makes one happy.”

Yarn Stuff

blending board yarn

Forever in Fibre shared how a yarn blending board works

yarn

How to read yarn labels from Stitch and Unwind

yarn

@mamas2hands shared her yarn purchase from Redfish Dyeworks

yarn

@NYAcrochet shared what the yarn she bought from Welthase

crochet plarn

10 items you can crochet with plastic bag yarn

redheartyarns

2 new Boutique yarns from @redheartyarns; I also like Boutique Fleecy, one of the 5 most unique Red Heart Yarns

yarn studio

Little Woolie shared her yarn studio

Other Crafty Things

lithuanian knitting

Lithuanian Knitting: Continuing Traditions is a travel-memoir-history-knitting book. Interview with the author via editor @kpwerker

diy cross stitch

DIY Moon Phases Cross Stitch Kit

textiles

How to Dye Textiles in a Front Loading Washing Machine @apttherapy

@molliemakes shares: “Made You Look, a pioneering documentary about the DIY graphic arts scene in the 21st century. With interviews from top British creatives, publishers and agency owners, the film explores why more people than ever are turning to analogue means.”

Special Thanks

Author

San Francisco based and crochet-obsessed writer, dreamer and creative spirit!

Write A Comment